Formal Emails – Samples / Model Answers

Cover Letter – Apply for a Job  / Online Application (I)

Subject: Public Relations Associate at Global InterNet (Ref: Online JobDatabase #23256)

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am a recent graduate from the University of Karlsruhe and I am interested in working in Public Relations for your organisation.

My most recent experience was as intern with KreatiView (Summer 2014) where I had the opportunity to assist with various marketing and media projects. I’m also a member of the Karlsruhe Film Society (KFS) and have been actively involved in their publicity efforts, which includes public outreach.  {Relevant experience}

With my sharp analytical skills, youthful enthusiasm and superior work ethic, I would be a definite asset to your organisation.   I am articulate, confident and a team-player.  I not only possess technical savvy but I also have very good interpersonal skills.  Fluent in English, German and Chinese, I  have a global mindset and excel in an international environment.

I have attached a CV for your consideration.  Thank you for kind attention and I look forward to exploring the possibilities of employment with you.

Yours faithfully,

Robert Oppenheimer

Tel: 0765539001 (Home) / 032246578 (Mobile)

========================================================================

Cover Letter – Apply for a Job  / Online Application (II)

Subject: Programmer Analyst at D&C Technology (Ref: ‘The Advertiser’ 16.06.16)

Dear Hiring Manager,

This letter is to express my interest in discussing the Programmer Analyst position at your company. The opportunity presented in this listing is very appealing, and I believe that my   strong technical background and education will make me a very competitive candidate for this position.

With a MS degree in Information Systems Management from the University of Karlsruhe, I have a full understanding of the full life cycle of a software development project.  During my internships at MDigiWorks and Alpha Tech, I successfully designed, developed, and supported live use applications.

The key strengths that I possess for success in this position include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • I am highly motivated and a self-starter.
  • Quick and eager to learn new things.
  • Strive for continued excellence.

I have attached a CV for your consideration.  Thank you for kind attention and I look forward to exploring the possibilities of employment with you.

Yours sincerely,

Robin Sim

Tel: 0655139443 (Home) / 088965221 (Mobile)

========================================================================

Cover Letter – Apply for a Job  / Online Application (III)

Subject: Job Application – Customer Service Manager (Ref: ‘The Times’, Sat 07.04.16, pg 16)

Dear Ms Ida Chen,

I am a recent graduate from the University of Karlsruhe and would like to apply for the position of Customer Service Manager.

During my undergraduate years, I worked part-time as a Customer Service Associate for FashionFwd (a retail chain).  Always seeking to do my best to ensure customer satisfaction, I won FashionFwd’s ‘Employee of the Month Award’ thrice (August 2014, July 2015 and December 2015) .

Dynamic, ambitious and a fast learner, I would be a valuable asset to your company.  Not only do I possess superb interpersonal skills but I also have excellent computer skills (e.g. MS Office).   My fluency in English and German allows me to handle international clients with confidence.  I have a valid driving license and my own vehicle which means that I can easily travel to service customers when required.

Attached is my CV for your consideration.  Thank you for kind attention and I look forward to a positive reply.

Yours sincerely,

Sandy Tolkien

Tel: 055479002 (Home) / 04112233449 (Mobile)

========================================================================

Issuing an Invitation (I) – Ref: Language Leader, pg 15, Ex. 15a, qn. 1

Subject: Invitation to speaker at Opening Ceremony

Dear Mrs Sharon Diaz,

I saw your interview regarding the XYZ building project on the 9pm evening news  (Channel 5, Monday 09.05.15).

As you may know, the new XYZ building will be officially opened next weekend.  As a former and our longest-serving employee, we would be delighted if you would accept our invitation to make a short speech (length: 10 minutes) as part of the upcoming opening ceremony (Saturday, 08.06.15, 9am, XYZ Building foyer).

Please find attached a document giving full details of the programme.

Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly or my colleague Ms Dara Brunning, tel: 8977653-126.

I hope you will be able to be part of this special event and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Linda Azlam, Ms

Public Relations and Media Manager

XYZ Properties

Tel: 8977653-124 / Fax: 8977654-344

================================================================================

Issuing an Invitation (II)

Subject:  International Conference: Using Widgets in the next phase of Small Devices Integration

Dear Professor Tang,

We are pleased to invite you to the “International International Conference: Using Widgets in the next phase of Small Devices Integration,” scheduled from 28-30 March 2012 in Washington DC.  This Conference will be a joint effort of the University of Concordia and the University of Michigan.

It is an honor and privilege to invite you to participate in this Conference as Speaker for the Workshop on “Using widgets for whatever”. We believe that your contribution to this field is unparalleled and a workshop on this topic will be of great benefit.

We look forward to a positive confirmation, it would be an honor for us indeed.  Kindly RSVP by Feb 20, 2012 to the Conference Secretary, Ms. Mary Longe, at info@widgetconference2012.com

Yours sincerely,

Dr Josephine Lunar

Conference Planning Chair

Departmant of Electronics, Mark University, Michigan

Tel: 65778 54123 Ext. 8 / Fax: 65778 932112

========================================================================

Issuing an Invitation (III) 

Subject: Invitation to be Keynote Speaker at Medical Forum in Singapore (29th – 31st July 2015)

Dear Dr Unger,

In conjunction with Bionic Vision Australia, the Department of Ophthalmology, Karlsruhe University Medical School is organising a 3-day Forum on  bionic eye technology – ‘Bionic Eye: Visions of the Future’.  The conference will be held at the Karlsruhe University Auditorium from Wednesday 29th July to Friday 31st July 2015.

As you are a prominent expert in this field, we would be delighted if you would accept our invitation to be the keynote speaker at the opening of the Forum (Wednesday 29th July, 9am).

I have attached a document giving full details of the programme for your information.  Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.  I look forward to your reply and to your participation in our forum.

Yours sincerely,

Dr Alanna Juno

Lecturer and Conference Coordinator

Department of Ophthalmology

Karlsruhe University Medical School

Tel: 0987 67754 / Fax: 0987 68879

========================================================================

Requesting Information (I) – Brochures from XYZ Translation Company

Subject: Translation Brochure

Dear Sir / Madam,

I would be grateful if you would send us your brochure and price list about your translation services.

We are currently developing our sales literature and web sites and are interested in translating these into five languages apart from English.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours faithfully,

Andreas Jaeger

Marketing Manager

InterMed Devices

Kaiserstr. 8, 72323 Stuttgart

Tel: 145 786643

========================================================================

Requesting Information (II) – Safety Products from ABC Tech

Subject: Technical Information about Safety Productions

Dear Sir / Madam,

As a consultant to the oil industry I came across your products at the TECH-COM trade show in Karlsruhe last month.  I am particularly interested in your line of safety products.  Could you please send me your catalogues and latest price list?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Lars Meister

Consultant

DESafe,

Goethe Str. 76, 78765 Karlsruhe

Tel: 0722-768861

========================================================================

Lodging a Complaint – Missing Inventory Items

Subject: Late Delivery / Missing Items

Dear Mr Barr,

Thank you for the delivery of the car parts (Ref: Order No. 876990/SP), however I would like to point out that it was a week late.  In addition, the delivery was incomplete as 27 windscreen wipers were missing. I would appreciate it very much if you could send the missing items as soon as possible.

This late and incomplete delivery has caused us great inconvenience. It has severely affects our ability to deliver on time to our major customer.

I hope this incident will not happen again in the future. I look forward to working with you again and a prompt resolution of this problem.

Regards,

Daniela Schmidt

Manager, Autohaus Schmidt

Karlsruhe, Germany

Tel: 0721 9887755

==================================================================================

Acknowledging a Complaint 

(The Reply from Mr Barr)

Subject: Re. Late Delivery / Missing Items

Dear Ms Schmidt,

Thank you for your email.  I’m very sorry to hear about the late delivery and missing items.  I’ll personally ensure that the 27 windscreen wipers are sent to you immediately.  I will also investigate the reason(s) for the delay and incomplete delivery.

Once again, apologies for any inconvenience caused.  Our company prides itself on prompt delivery and 100% customer satisfaction.  Please rest assured that this will not happen again.  I look forward to a continued relationship with Autohaus Schmidt.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas Barr,

Manager, JMK Engineering

Tel: 0877661122

========================================================================

Requesting Payment from Customer

Subject: Outstanding Invoice

Dear Mr Peters,

Our records show that you have an outstanding balance dating back to January, 20–. Your January invoice was for £445.00 and we have yet to receive this payment. Please find a copy of the invoice enclosed.

If this amount has already been paid, please disregard this notice. Otherwise, please forward us the amount owed in full by March 1st, 20–. As our contract indicates, we begin charging 5% interest for any outstanding balances after 30 days.

Thank you in advance for your cooperation. We hope to continue doing business with you in the future.

Sincerely,

Marian Lim

Accountant, ABC Company

Enclosure: Invoice #223

Leave a Reply

